- Uinta County
- County Treasurer
- Vehicle Registration
- General Information
How To Calculate What a License Plate Will Cost
You can calculate a registration fee for a vehicle by accessing our Vehicle Registration Fee Calculator. Wyoming Statutes dictate the calculation of all registration fees. Therefore, the fees are the same no matter what county a vehicle is registered in. However, the county that collects the fees keeps and distributes the money to the taxing entities in their county. Therefore, residents are encouraged to register vehicles in the county where they reside.
Registration fees consist of two parts: a county fee and a state fee.
The county fee is a tax based on the value of the vehicle and is calculated using the following formula:
- Factory Cost
x Year of Service Rate
$20,000 X 60% X .03 = $360.00
This calculator provides an estimate of costs based on the information provided by the user, and should be used for informational purposes only. The Treasurer's Office is not responsible for any errors in the information or fees provided by this form.
Factory Cost or MSRPThe factory cost or MSRP is the original cost placed on vehicle by the automobile factory. The year of service rate is determined by how many years the vehicle has been registered for use. Service rates are as follows:
The state fee is a fee levied by the State of Wyoming and is remitted to the Department of Transportation each month.
The fee depends on the vehicle type, as follows:
Where Registration Fees Go
The county fees collected for license plate registration are distributed to taxing entities in the same manner as all other property taxes. Which means it's distributed in proportion to the county mill levy table. The state fee is remitted to the Wyoming Department of Transportation each month.
Types of Fee Exemptions Available
The County Assessor's Office administrates a program by which an honorably discharged veteran may receive 3,000 valuation points (or $90) per year to apply towards property taxes or license plates. If interested in enrolling in the program, please contact the County Assessor's Office at (307) 783-0338.
There is also an exemption for people who are more than 50% disabled through the Veteran's Administration. People with that designation can provide a copy of their statement from the VA and claim a county fee exemption on one vehicle registered in Wyoming.