Sales Tax on Recreational Vehicles

Sales Tax on Boats


When purchased from a dealer, the dealer will normally collect sales tax on the boat and motor. Sales tax on the trailer will have to be paid at the time the boat trailer is licensed, and is collected by the Treasurer's Office.

If the boat is purchased from an individual, or the dealer does not collect the sales tax, it may also be paid to the Treasurer's Office at the time the boat trailer is licensed. The Treasurer's Office will then issue a receipt showing sales tax has been paid.

The sales tax rate on a boat is the same for other vehicles or trailers.

Important
: The Game & Fish Department requires proof that sales tax has been paid on a boat before they will issue a boat registration. Therefore, it is important to keep any receipt that shows sales tax has been paid.

For more information regarding watercraft registration with Wyoming Game and Fish click here.
Boat (JPG)

Sales Tax on Motorcycles


When purchased from a Wyoming dealership, the dealership will collect the rate of sales tax based on the point of sale, rather than the purchaser's county of residence. 

When purchased from a private party, the purchaser will pay the rate of sales tax in which the purchaser resides. The sales tax has to be paid within 65 days from the date of sale in order to avoid penalty and interest. 
Motorcycle (JPG)

Sales Tax on Dirt Bikes and Multipurpose Vehicles


When purchased from a Wyoming dealership, the dealership will collect the rate of sales tax based on the point of sale, rather than the purchaser's county of residence. 

When purchased from a private party, the purchaser will pay the rate of sales tax in which the purchaser resides. The sales tax has to be paid within 65 days from the date of sale in order to avoid penalty and interest. 
Side-By-Side (JPG)