This calculator provides an estimate of costs based on the information provided by the user, and should be used for informational purposes only. The Treasurer's Office is not responsible for any errors in the information or fees provided by this form.
Submit A Request For An EstimateYou can submit a request to our office for an estimate on registration fees by clicking here. Once we receive your request will call or email you back with your estimate.
How To Calculate What a License Plate Will CostYou can calculate a registration fee for a vehicle by accessing our Vehicle Registration Fee Calculator. Wyoming Statutes dictate the calculation of all registration fees. Therefore, the fees are the same no matter what county a vehicle is registered in. However, the county that collects the fees keeps and distributes the money to the taxing entities in their county. Therefore, residents are encourages to register vehicles in the county where they reside.
Registration fees consist of two parts: a county fee and a state fee.
County FeesThe county fee is a tax based on the value of the vehicle and is calculated using the following formula:
- Factory Cost
x Year of Service Rate
The factory cost is the original cost placed on vehicle by the automobile factory. The year of service rate is determined by how many years the vehicle has been registered for use. Service rates are as follows:
County Fee ExampleA new vehicle having a factory cost of $20,000 would have a county fee of:
$20,000 X 60% X .03 = $360.00
State FeesThe state fee is a fee levied by the State of Wyoming and is remitted to the Department of Transportation each month.
The fee depends on the vehicle type, as follows: